The 2 1/2 Minute Video

Meet Our Alumni

Join Our List

Welcome, Friends!

Friends of Breakthrough Schools is a non-profit development and advocacy organization. Friends of Breakthrough is responsible for closing the gap in public funding needed to provide quality education to thousands of children in Cleveland each year, as well as working with community, business, and political leaders to build city-wide support for high-quality public school options for all children in Cleveland.

13411999_1324505914245857_4032794323405598510_o

FOB Fall Newsletter 2016

Fall Newsletter 2016

Read our latest newsletter, featuring updates from all our schools and community!

Highlights include:

- New pre school located at Citizens Academy Mahatma Gandhi Campus!
- New Village Prep opening on the West Side!
- Updates on the great work of community volunteers!
- Update on this year's Breakthrough BASH!

On behalf of all our students, staff, volunteers, and entire community, thanks to everyone for your support!

Available here as a viewable PDF.

Did You Know? 

High-performing, non-profit public charter schools in Ohio only receive about 1/2 the funding of traditional district schools. 

Friends Board of Directors

William Koehler
Chair

Michael Cristal
Vice Chair

Charlie Lougheed
Vice Chair

Richard Pace
Vice Chair

Thomas Rudibaugh
Vice Chair

Brian Tucker
Vice Chair

Jeff Berlin
Treasurer

Jennifer Grossman
Secretary

Suresh Bafna

Frank Bird

Julia Bolton

Don Bullock

Denise Carkhuff

Jim Carulas

Timothy Coughlin

Jeffrey Cristal

Karen Davies

Martin Gates

Robert Gillespie

Vipin Gupta

Jim Kavalec

 

Andrew Kline

Andrew Lee

John LeMay

David Lowman

Michael Merriman

Alfred Miller

Bridget Moreno

Jane Outcalt

Peter Rome

John Sinnenberg

William Vogelgesang

George von Zedlitz

Brent Zimmerman

 

Contact Us

Friends of Breakthrough Office

Phone: (216) 539-9349
3615 Superior Avenue, Suite 3103A
Cleveland OH 44114

Our Staff

John Zitzner, President
jzitzner@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-7801

Susan Ertle, Executive Director
sertle@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-7803

Karen Solomon, Director of Annual Fund
ksolomon@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2795

Katie Emerson, Director of Engagement and Donor Relations
kemerson@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2685

Doniell Gill, Gifts and Grants Administrator
dgill@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 539-9349

Samantha Sopko, Director of Grants and Foundation Relations
ssopko@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2688

Sam Steinfeld, Director of Resource Development
ssteinfeld@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2646

Kelly Berg, Director of Volunteer Relations
kberg@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2818

Liz Hass-Hill, Director of Accounting
lhasshill@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 539-9349

Melodee McCrodden, Accounting Coordinator
mmccrodden@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 539-9349

Michelle Camou, Grants Associate
mcamou@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 539-9349