The 2 1/2 Minute Video

Belief, Passion, Courage, Commitment

Meet Our Alumni

Young Professionals

 


Are you a Young Professional looking to make an impact on Cleveland? 

Click here to learn about the Friends of Breakthrough Schools Young Professional group leading the charge.  Get involved today!

Join Our List

Welcome, Friends!

Friends of Breakthrough Schools is a non-profit development and advocacy organization. Friends of Breakthrough is responsible for closing the gap in public funding needed to provide quality education to thousands of children in Cleveland each year, as well as working with community, business, and political leaders to build city-wide support for high-quality public school options for all children in Cleveland.

13411999_1324505914245857_4032794323405598510_o

The Semper Virens Legacy Society was established to recognize individuals who have made a long-term commitment to Breakthrough Schools and was created in concert with the recent formation of the Friends of Breakthrough Schools Legacy Fund of the Cleveland Foundation.

If you would like to learn more about legacy giving, which helps to ensure long-term financial stability through the preservation and investment of dollars for future benefit, click here or reach out to Susan Ertle at sertle@breakthroughschools.org.

WINTER NEWSLETTER

Learn about the latest happenings from Friends of Breakthrough in our most recent newsletter available here as a PDF.

Did You Know? 

High-performing, non-profit public charter schools in Ohio only receive about 1/2 the funding of traditional district schools. 

Friends Board of Directors

Michael Cristal
Chair

James Kavalec
Vice Chair

William Koehler
Vice Chair

Charles Lougheed
Vice Chair

Bridget Moreno
Vice Chair

Richard Pace
Vice Chair

Thomas Rudibaugh
Vice Chair

Jeff Berlin
Treasurer

Jennifer Grossman
Secretary

Megan Arth

Suresh Bafna

Ed Bell

Frank Bird

Julia Bolton

Denise Carkhuff

James Carulas

Jamie Cole

Timothy Coughlin

Jeffrey Cristal

Mike de Windt

Martin Gates

Robert Gillespie

Andrew Lee

John LeMay

Cecil Lipscomb

David Lowman

James Manley

Michael Merriman

Alfred Miller

Jane Outcalt

Poppie Parish

Michelle Perez

Peter Rome

Rita Sehgal

Diane Singer

John Sinnenberg

Heather Thiltgen

Brian Tucker

William Vogelgesang

George von Zedlitz

Brent Zimmerman

 

Contact Us

Friends of Breakthrough Office

Phone: (216) 539-9349
3615 Superior Avenue, Suite 3103A
Cleveland OH 44114

Our Staff

John Zitzner, President
jzitzner@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-7801

Susan Ertle, Executive Director
sertle@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-7803

Karen Solomon, Director of Annual Fund
ksolomon@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2795

Katie Emerson, Director of Engagement and Donor Relations
kemerson@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2685

Doniell Gill, Gifts and Grants Administrator
dgill@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 539-9349

Samantha Sopko, Director of Grants and Foundation Relations
ssopko@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2688

Sam Steinfeld, Director of Resource Development
ssteinfeld@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 401-5315

Kelly Berg, Director of Volunteer Relations
kberg@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 373-2818

Michelle Camou, Grants Associate
mcamou@breakthroughschools.org
(216) 539-9349